Sign language and grammar

InnocentOdion

Reaction score
Hi guys,
Can you guys explain how the grammar of your sign language works? (Please state which one it is) For example, how do you make a question, and how does the layout of certain sentences work (see below)

It's hard to find a good source of information on the grammar of sign language. You can find find information on ASL grammar on Wikipedia, but I don't trust it from there.

I'd also like to know more about why in ASL & BSL one would say something like, "How many brother I have? Three". Why is it said this way, as opposed to "I have three brother", or "I have brother three". I believe it's called a rhetorical question, but don't hold me to it. :ty::ty: Since at the moment I am still learning BSL, I use sign in English-esque grammar.

This is a good resource:

Green Books: Teacher's Resource on Grammar & Culture B320 $39.95

One of the Green Book Series. This volume of the American Sign Language series explains in depth the grammar and structure of American Sign Language (ASL) while also presenting a description of the Deaf community in the United States. Written for teachers with minimal training in linguistics, it includes many illustrations, examples, and dialogues that focus on specific aspects of the Deaf community. [Charlotte Baker-Shenk and Dennis Cokely; (1980) 496 pages; soft cover; ASL]
Green Books: Teacher's Resource on Grammar & Culture

It depends on the type of sign language.

SEE is more accurate than ASL when it comes to grammar structure.

you could argue that SEE is in fact a language, its just not a natural language, its made up.

and how can 1 language be more grammatically correct than another language?

i think you meant to say SEE is more gramatically similar to english than ASL....at least i hope so.

you could argue that SEE is in fact a language, its just not a natural language, its made up.

and how can 1 language be more grammatically correct than another language?