Miya's looking for consistent friends to practice asl :))

MiyaMia

Reaction score
I'm studying to be a SL interpreter. SL "swept me off my feet" when I was 11 years old. It intrigued me how graceful and vulnerable this form of communication was. I totally fell in love!

My Godfather started to teach me when I was 16. He has a deaf brother and is completely fluent. He's an interpreter. Then, life happened- he moved away, unfortunate events happened that spurned me away from SL studies. Sad, but not for long- I'm 23 and getting back into the swing of things!
Before, you just had to read a book and know common signs and pass the test to become an interpreter.
Now, it's different- you need your bachelors, which I'm ALL FOR. It just wasn't fair.. Deaf people suffered because the miseducation of their language to hearing people. At least, where I live and that's right next to St.Augustine, FL.

I'd even go as far as getting my Master's. I want to be an interpreter because I want to be part of the solution when it comes to uniting the deaf and hearing worlds. . Now, I know that Deaf people can get around just fine and they seem to at times, in many ways, have a better grip on life that hearing people.. & I get this from watching and meeting a few strong-willed, level-headed, independent deaf people.

I don't really understand why, but I feel comfortable and I guess, I would admit, more understood around deafies, rather than hearing people.

Responses, advice, knowledge, etc. would be nice. Participators would mean the world to me!

Thanks for taking the time to read this :))

MiyaMiaaaaa

:ily: Thank you! I feel welcomed!
I'll be on Alldeaf around this time at night. (10:00 pm eastern)
I'll have school in the morning soon, then work, so this would be the perfect for me.

I have a question for all of you guys.
What keeps you coming back to Alldeaf?