research paper on deaf community

anjelstar94

Reaction score
hi my name is anjel and i am majoring in deaf studies. for my anthropology class (sex, gender and culture) i have to write an ethnographic paper and i would like to write it about how sex, gender and culture differ in the deaf community than in the hearing world. i was wondering if i can interview people for my paper as well as maybe become friends with some. show me the ropes through the eyes of a deaf person. [emoji4]

Well the unique thing is all culturally Deaf people are bound together by our common language. (ASL in USA). Therefore we treasure communication between each other and are very accepting of everyone else in the community. Age, gender and sexual identity, socio-economic status, race, religion etc. Become relatively unimportant. It's probably the most highly networked culture in the USA. With that also comes a lot of gossip and drama too unfortunately. Also culturally, many questions/topics that are taboo in hearing culture are the norm and expected in Deaf culture. Our communication style is direct and blunt by hearing culture norms. That should get you started.

Try me. I do know that a lot of younger deaf people like vehicles with turbocharged engine.

Im trying to see your hypothesis.

What is your difference between gender and sex on this paper? In my opinion deafness affects all genders from all walks of life.

We have much better sex than hearing people and a lot more of it. But that's a secret.... heh

We are open mind.culture...our strength...gender, sex identity, open mind

Haha, soutpaw, stole signs right my hand.....

We are open mind.culture...our strength...gender, sex identity, open mind
my class is about culture and the way men and women act a certain way or do certain things based on what the norm in their culture. some cultures women stay home and men are the only ones to work. is there something like that in the deaf culture?