Hi from Minnesota

greypoupon

Reaction score
I live in MN with my two kids, three greyhounds and three cats.

I'm hearing.

ASL was my "second language" in college, and unfortunately, I rarely have a chance to use it. I graduated in '97 and am a bit rusty now. Not as bad as you might think though. :lol But anyway, I do a lot of volunteering and work with various non-profits, and would like to improve my skills in order to do a better job of reaching out to all communities. Often, in any given situation, I'm the only one around who signs, so I'd like to be able to do it better and get more involved in the local deaf community.

Also, my sister moved today to Faribault, MN, and my plan is to move there in the next year. I'd like to work in the schools and/or community there and feel that improving my fluency in sign would be beneficial.

And, frankly, I've always just sort of liked the language...the ease of it...the naturalness, the grammar (as an English major, I've always liked languages, but of all those I learned, ASL is the only one I was proficient in...I never really liked the others in the same way.) I'm sensitive to noise, and while not HOH, have never heard well, so ASL was a relief as a form of communication where I don't have to strain to hear over background noise, etc.

BTW, I love the emoticons here. :lol

What else? I consider myself divorced as my SH abandoned my family a year ago today. We are still working out the settlement, but I'm DEFINITELY single. :p

I'm very involved with my greyhounds doing meet and greets, parades, picnics, and what-not.

I work a LOT, and sleep very little.

Anyway, HI!

:welcome: I'm from minnesota too... I'll send you info on resources sometimes later this week or so via PM (I've been busy working @ state fair and go to classes) but you can find info @ www.tcdeaf.com if you have any questions, go ahead PM me....

Hey! Welcome to our humble adobe! Hope you will enjoy readng our postings and make new friends here :)