Is it OK for an ASL teacher to be Hearing?

competes2win

Reaction score
Hey all, This isn't a question about "deaf" education... but rather the education of hearing people in ASL. I figure this is still the right place to put this thread...

I was just wondering what your thoughts are about a Hearing ASL teacher. I'm a hearing college student taking ASL 2 at the moment, my first ASL teacher was deaf but my current one is hearing (husband is a CODA and she has one deaf daughter and a hoh son).

Curious and can't wait to see what you guys have to say.

I can give you the similarity of it. My friend, who is the co-ordinator of the AUSLAN (Australian Sign Language) and the teacher's hearing and teaches AUSLAN at some college.

As long as the hearing teacher is certified, and has some contact with the Deaf community, I don't see a problem with it. I know hearing signers that sign like natives. Given the fact that her husband is a CODA, and she has deaf children, I'd say her contact with the deaf community is consistent enough to insure that her skills are what they should be. Of course, a Deaf native signer will still be able to teach the language in a way that a hearing signer never will. But that is true with all languages.

As was said, she has enough exposure to the Deaf community. While I would personally feel more comfortable with someone who signed ASL as their first language, either a deaf person or a child of deaf parents, I don't see why she shouldn't teach it.

Well, in the first place, the teacher, hearing or deaf, need to know their stuff and have the requisite skills to teach.

Well, in the first place, the teacher, hearing or deaf, need to know their stuff and have the requisite skills to teach.