Not so noob

agentpigeon

Reaction score
Salutations. Legend has it that newcomers to the forum are to introduce themselves, so here I am. First, I am very much established as a hearing person. I am a cellist and pianist, and am incredibly fascinated with certain aspects of the English language. However, this fascination appears to be innate in myself, as I am equally fascinated with American Sign Language and the concept of expanding beyond the barriers of mere sound combinations into the arena of visual representation of concepts. Since a large part of comprehension depends upon the ability to visualize the problem or concept, ofttimes an English sentence cannot hope to compare with the way ASL can communicate a complicated idea in a few simple motions. But all of this is merely my intellectual fascination with ASL, and has nothing to do with my as yet unmentioned involvement.

My beginnings in ASL were, admittedly, humble. I met my HOH friend, Rob, when I was about twelve, and that then nearly inert spark of fascination impelled me to casually learn a few signs. My skill was very limited for a very long time, and I only used - and knew about - SEE. I knew a little sign, but remained largely stagnant in my ability. Two years ago, I discovered ASL. The spark within me had been fanned when I took a year of Spanish and loved every minute of it, and now it carried even greater force when it gave me the desire to learn all about ASL as an individual and complex language. I gradually took up ASL grammar (and am still working on understanding and implementing it in conversation) and today I might be classified as an intermediate to advanced signer. I comprehend, as an observer, much of what is "said", and have been told I utilize well the visual and spacial capabilities of ASL.