New to the Boards

ksbsnowowl

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new to alldeaf, and I suppose I'm here just to see what information I can learn about various aspects of deaf culture and relationships.

I recently entered a relationship with a deaf woman. She and I have known each other for two years, working as lab partners in several science classes. I'd known a little sign language before I met her, but I took a college class last fall because I wanted to learn anyway, and she sort of served as an impetus for me to learn.

Anyway, once I learned the basics she and I started hanging out as friends, and the rest is history. I'm still 'in progress' as she likes to say, but I'm learning quickly (that's what she tells me anyway).

So, I suppose I'm most interested in advice for and anecdotes about deaf-hearing relationships. I've heard the horrific 'numbers' about the success of such relationships, but her parents have been doing it for over 25 years, so I'm not overly worried on that front.

Anyway, that's enough spilling of my guts for tonight. Hello to everyone, I'm sure I'll meet most of you in a conversation at some point.

KSB Snow Owl

Welcome to AD! Im also a hearing person who came to learn about deaf culture and people after having met an incredible deaf person. I hope you enjoy your time here and look forward to seeing your posts.

Hello KSB Snow Owl

Welcome aboard to AD and enjoy your stay. Have fun postin' with new friends here ! :D I am certain you will learn alot more from this site. :thumb:

Giday, welcome aboard here.

Good luck with your special gal :)

Welcome to AD!

Welcome to AD!
Thats nice you have a deaf friend to hang out with.
Keep up with your sign lanuage, I've known ASL for 30 yrs.
It takes time, but the more you practice the more your learn.
Enjoy your stay!
Margie

Hello--

Welcome to AD and enjoy your stay here ;)

Hello &
14.gif