11 Years as a Deaf Educator Didn't Prepare Me...

deafbajagal

Reaction score
So, I'm supposed to be an expert on teaching deaf and hard of hearing children, right? I've done it for eleven years, not counting the times I was a student learning about deaf education, emerging myself with working with deaf/hh children. I can even be a little cocky sometimes with the "know-it-all" attitude on here (hey, I'm being honest. Painfully honest).

I got this report. It's the same kind of report I've seen countless time over the years in the referral process of special education services.

"Your child has failed a hearing screening at school. Please take this form to an audiologist/ oncologist..."

This time, it's MY child's name on the form. And I have to be honest. I'm not ready. I'm actually in shock. I KNEW she had profound hearing loss in the left ear, and I was prepared and I have been working on making sure she has services, etc. for that. But this is the good ear. Is it possible she is losing hearing in the "good ear? "

I don't know why but I'm shaken by this note. I have made her an appointment with an audiologist where I work on Thursday. My stomach is in knots.

For the first time, I can truly experience what my own mother has gone through...the same questions, the same concerns, the same fears. Even though I have much more of a vast experience in understanding the field of deafness than she ever did, it all doesn't prepare me to be a mother of a deaf/hard of hearing child.

So, I'm supposed to be an expert on teaching deaf and hard of hearing children, right? I've done it for eleven years, not counting the times I was a student learning about deaf education, emerging myself with working with deaf/hh children. I can even be a little cocky sometimes with the "know-it-all" attitude on here (hey, I'm being honest. Painfully honest).