captioning vs signing

toddsouth

Reaction score
I am a video producer that is working with others on a product that would allow a sign language interpreters to be seen at the bottom of the screen for video.

We are curious if this is an application that we should continue to develop or is it superfluous technology. My question is simple... Would the deaf community rather read captions or watch a sign language interpreter for their video needs? (i.e. news, video classes, television programming)

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Personally I prefer captions because frequently the "interpreter in a bubble" is too small. I can't read fingerspelling when they are so small. If they were bigger on the screen that would be okay.

There are non signing deaf. Lots of late deafened people. Captioning is more equitable.

Captioning and interpreting serve 2 different purposes. Captioning is a transcript of the language being spoken. Signing is interpreting the spoken language into another language. They really aren't interchangeable.

Captioning and interpreting serve 2 different purposes. Captioning is a transcript of the language being spoken. Signing is interpreting the spoken language into another language. They really aren't interchangeable.

I understand that they are not interchangeable, however what we are evaluating is if there is a need for sign language interpreters. We have spoken to people that have a preference for one over another. Though this is hardly what you would call a representative example.

Our target audience is the sign language using population. Captioning is certainly one way to present language, however it is not the only way. We are simply curious if sign language is something that users would welcome.

The size of the interpreter is certainly a concern. We would present an interpreter that can be understood.

Are there any applications or genres signers would prefer an interpreter to captioning?