why are American health care so expensive...

It is said that it's because we have no collective bargaining power for bidding. :shrug:

Because we use it for EVERYTHING!!! Insurance is for "just in case", but we use it for ear infections or because we want to go see our doctor for that prescription we saw a commercial for. OKay back up

a) we are not the consumer. Doctors and hospitals etc don't set prices by what WE are willing to pay for things, the first thing you got to realize is Medicare and Insurance companies are their customers, they bargain for the prices and they'll pay more than you and or I they don't shop around. There is no competetion between doctors and hospitals to keep prices competitive.

b) we use it for everything. If doctors had to compete, office visits would be much more affordable and it wouldn't kill you to pay for a simple office visit yourself, actually I've been doing that for freaking 7 years and it's really not that bad. BUT we don't use health insurance like insurance is supposed to be used, like your car for instance. Imagine how much you car insurance would be if you used it to fill your gas tank, get your oil changed, buy new tires, replace your engine etc etc etc of course our premiums sky rocket every year. What happens when you use your car insurance because you got in an accident? Your rates go up. Same thing with your insurance, we use it and use and use it so the rates go up and up and up.

It's a broken business model and it's stupid.

The End

thank god for NHS....i read somewhere lots of elderly americans are going on cruises and getting health care that way

Because we use it for EVERYTHING!!! Insurance is for "just in case", but we use it for ear infections or because we want to go see our doctor for that prescription we saw a commercial for. OKay back up