What was school like for you?

mbenson5

Reaction score
Hi there to you all! First of all, thank you so much for sharing your information. Your information has been so valuable to learning about this culture and some things I've never even thought of. :bowdown:

My question this week is: how did you manage communication when you went to school? I guess I am assuming public school like I went to, but now that I think of it, I don't remember any people who were deaf where I went to school. I graduated with a class of 120, so that should tell you something about my rural origins... :cool: What I am wondering is if you had an interpreter, if you attended a school specifically for the deaf, or if you were able to lip read? Thanks again for your willingness to share!!

Melissa :ty:

Well, all my life that i went to mainstream where my school was strict about sign language and i had to lip read on everyone who was talking to me or any one else. I had no interpreter or note taker while at school - it's hard to get by but hey, i survived!!!!! After i graduated from H.S. and then i learned sign language through my ex-boyfriend that time before i become Transman!!!!

My question this week is: how did you manage communication when you went to school? I guess I am assuming public school like I went to, but now that I think of it, I don't remember any people who were deaf where I went to school. I graduated with a class of 120, so that should tell you something about my rural origins... :cool: What I am wondering is if you had an interpreter, if you attended a school specifically for the deaf, or if you were able to lip read? Thanks again for your willingness to share!!

I just signed and talked, anyway I can to get people to understand me at school. I went to mainstreamed schools. And was in class with 10 deaf kids