VRS Interpreters

interpreter

Reaction score
Any vrs interpreters here? I am starting training next week and would like some feedback about the job.

Thanks!:ty:

I'd contribute something 'cept I might get called snotty, wrong, etc, etc. Lol....

Oh, boy...something went on here today! LOL

However, I'd like to hear about vrs interpreting. :)

Oh, sorry...I just found this website this evening. Would love to get to know other terps. :)

Yes, I am a VRS terp. I am pretty new at it myself so I am still learning the ropes but it is a nice change after 5 years of community interpreting. The most important thing I have learned so far is: If the communication was successful, you did your job. Meaning that if the person making the phone call got what they wanted, you did a good job. Don't worry about not interpreting perfectly. The people don't know who you are, and once a call is over you can forget all about it. If you mess up, life goes on. You can always call a team if you need it. But remember to focus on getting the message across. VRS is about functional equivalency. If the person calling for pizza used a bunch of strange signs for mushrooms and onions and extra cheese, and you had to ask for clarification a million times, but the delivery guy showed up with a mushrooms, onions, and extra cheese pizza...then you did a good job! :)

Thank you!

What do you do if the called is being mean to you? Have you ever had someone do something inappropriate on camera?

There are definitely mean callers. You just have to smile and place their call. It's almost never personal, they're just mad at a previous negative experience. If they are making it personal and about you, you just sweetly offer to transfer them to another interpreter. (I am pretty sure all VRS companies have that option for the terp.) If the person is truly abusive, you should usually file a report just so you have yourself covered in case they want to complain to your company.