Teen Going Through Deafhood - Intro and Questions

iaskedalice09

Reaction score
Hey people,

I'm Bobby, a 16-year-old Deaf person. My family is hearing and I am oral. I started learning ASL about a year ago and have pretty good signing skills according to the local community.

Question for Deaf of Deafs here and just Deaf people in general...

I am classified in the medical model as "moderately deaf." Does this mean I can't call myself Deaf without offending D/deaf people? I need hearing aides, closed captioning, FM System, and an interpreter for platform settings (for example, theatre, auditorium).

My ASL teacher (who's been in Deaf ed for over 30 years) says that I am not Deaf, but HOH. "To be Deaf, you have to sign like a native signer." So all in all I am really confused about *what* I am. I am not fluent in ASL yet but I will be by the time I go to college ('cause I will need an interpreter for there for sure).

Any thoughts?

As far as hobbies/interests, I am really into theatre and drama. I love seeing plays interpreted (it's the only way I can understand the show) and I've yet to see a Deaf West/NTD play. I am also a huge bookworm; English is my first language, I devour anything American Literature. I want to go to college to teach HS English to Deaf kids using BiBi, and I also want to be an interpreter (I have enough hearing to comprehend things aurally) - for the deaf and deaf blind.

Nice to meet you all!

:welcome: to AD!

Your ASL terp is wrong...if u are comfortable calling yourself Deaf, then dont worry about what others think. I was born with a severe profound deafness but raised orally and just learned ASL about 10 years ago at the age of 25. A lot of Deaf people say I act more hearing than Deaf but I dont care. I call myself Deaf.

"To be Deaf, you have to sign like a native signer."