Optional

Russa

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a student at Arizona State University, and currently studying sign and interpreting. I have been using ASL inside and outside the classroom for over four years, performing, interpreting, and learning as much as I can.

I'm currently working on a report about the Deaf culture/community, and it ties in to the Disabilities Act. Would anyone be offended if I asked some questions and used your quotes in my paper? Please let me know. :gossip:

:dance: RUSSA

:wave: welcome to AD Russa -- enjoy ur stay here! :D

I dont think anyone would be offended if u had questions for us and ur quoting us on ur paper -- fire away! :D

Hi,

Oh no, we won't feel offended by whatever question you have in mind as long it nothing personal about us ladies here :twisted: LOL...

Thank-you

Ok, great, thanks so much :)

First question, then.
What do you think brought the Deaf Culture into being; do you think it was the separateness that deafness creates between people, or because ASL is a different language, or, as many hearing people think, did the label "disabled" cause the culture because of a need to feel "special"?

And again, sorry if it sounds offensive, it's the format I'm stuck in, I have to ask :|

I think it was to rebel against oralism. To separate themselves from that. I think it was also Cochlear Implant that made Deaf Community bigger.

Cochlear

Do you mean that the cochlear implant debate has caused the Deaf community to be more well-known, or that it's caused it to become more defined?
I would think it would be the opposite, because with more medical advancements physical deafness is no longer clearly defined, which has to have some effect on the Deaf culture.