MacBook Pro Fans: Tips & Tricks

JClarke

AD Veteran
Premium Member
Reaction score
I'm no Mac expert but the title says all. I have a macBook Pro (The 2011 model) Would love to learn all these tips and tricks and whatever, do share!

(iPad & iPhones are welcome!)

I'm no Mac expert but the title says all. I have a macBook Pro (The 2011 model) Would love to learn all these tips and tricks and whatever, do share!

I have the same model, 13" screen.

If you're in an application, use Command-Q to quit it.

Swipe three fingers side-to-side to switch between full-screened applications (browser, email, etc.).

Swipe two fingers up and down or side to side to move application screens around.

In Safari, you can flip back to a previous page buy using the two-fingered swipe.

Pinch four fingers on the trackpad to bring up the Launchpad.

Tap two fingers together on an application screen to zoom-in or zoom-out.

If you need your external mouse instead of touchpad on your MacBook Pro, you can disable Reverse Scrolling in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion for using external mouse.

You have used scroll bars, trackpads and mouse wheels to scroll pages and documents by moving down to scroll down and up to scroll up.

Trackpad:
1. Open the Apple menu in the upper-left corner of the screen and select "System Preferences"
2. Click the “Trackpad” icon.
3. Clear the check from the “Scroll Direction: Natural” box.
4. Close the window.

Mouse:
1. Open the Apple menu and select “System Preferences.”
2. Click the “Mouse” icon.
3. Clear the check from the “Move content in the direction of finger movement when scrolling or navigating” box.
4. Close the window.

Screenshot Capturing:
1. Hold down "Command," "Shift" and press "3" on your keyboard to capture a screenshot of the whole screen (it will save to your desktop.)
2. Hold down "Command," "Shift," and press "4" on your keyboard to change your mouse pointer into crosshairs.
3. Click and drag a box, to capture a screenshot of that portion of the screen.