lifeprint dotcom

coronamoz

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to ASL as a few of you know. I recently discovered lifeprint.com and they offer free lessons and will even send you a CD of their site for free.

My question is this: What kind of reputation does that website have when it comes to reliability and correctness of signs? I want to be using modern signs when I actually use my ASL for the first time. I mean, ASL is a living language just as any other. Thanks!

wow, surprising that nobody in a deaf forum has heard of this site. i'll take that as a hint.

I've seen that site and I've used it before. I don't like to use it for everything but I use it for general help. I would say that the best way to learn any language would be to use it with people who know the language who can show you how it's actually used.

coronamoz said:
wow, surprising that nobody in a deaf forum has heard of this site. i'll take that as a hint.

You're right...I have never heard of it. The best way to learn ASL is through signing with people at local events, etc.

I found that link a few weeks ago while looking for resources for teaching a class in ASL. As a person who grew up with both ASL and spoken english, I can say that they are fairly thurough on vocab and cultural issues.
However, the guy is an ASL purist. He strictly conforms to the "no be verbs" and strict ASL wordorder. Most people I know who use ASL (myself included) really use a hybrid of ASL and pigdin sign.
I dont think it really matters how you say it as long as your point gets across. :applause:

Hope its not full of old ASL signs you find on the ABC cards deafies selling these days.

Richard

http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/index.htm