International Sign Language

lms86

Reaction score
Hi. I'm writing a paper for my ASL class on International Sign Language ("Gestuno") that was created in the 1950's. Does anyone know anything about it? If so, do you ever use it? How do you know about it? Have they ever taught it in residential schools? Does anyone think that having an international sign language would make life easier like during travels and such? Thanks for helping.

While I've had no experience/contact with any attempts or forms of international sign, I find the very concept disturbing at best. The differences in sign languages are just like spoken languages- what make that particular language distinct and beautiful in it's own way, also connecting it's users. To attempt to unify that into a "one sizes fits all" sign language would be a real shame.

Hi. I'm writing a paper for my ASL class on International Sign Language ("Gestuno") that was created in the 1950's. Does anyone know anything about it? If so, do you ever use it? How do you know about it? Have they ever taught it in residential schools? Does anyone think that having an international sign language would make life easier like during travels and such? Thanks for helping.

I don't know much about gestuno, but my impression is that it faced the same fate as esperanto. It was too artifical and died, and instead the language of the dominant superpower was used as an international sign language. Like english, spanish and chinese is international languages for spoken languages, ASL is the international choice for sign languages. Those who do not know ASL, often use iconic signs and classifiers shared by the different sign languages, though you often see ASL signs among them, too.

I haven't heard of gestuno teached in school.

That's what I think I know.