I finally get to start classes!

steph9700

Reaction score
I have been sending emails almost monthly for around 1 to 1&1/2 years to the aidb to this one person that is listed as contact on the bottom of the adult education section. I tried something different this month and just typed in a few random letters and numbers ..."@aidb.org" so it would hit the basic catch all box for the website and guess what??? It worked! My message finally got to the right person and I get to start American Sign Language class tonight @ 5:30! Apparently the person that belongs to that email address is not a very nice person. He basically picks and chooses what he is going to forward and if he's decided you aren't "disabled enough" he will just plain out delete the email and put your email address on his blocked list. She said this has been happening for a while and that he had been written up and warned about the way his saying and doing things and treating people. When I got ill and sent it to a random address it got caught by the web site administrator and forwarded to the right person. I sent the email on Monday last week but didn't check my mail again until Tuesday so I missed the almost immediate reply from the teacher that I could come to class starting that Monday night @6pm. I emailed her back and asked her if it was too late to go ahead and start coming to class this second Monday, (today!) and she said okay! I have to be there around 5:30 to get my class materials and to get the catch up on the stuff I missed in the first class then the main class starts at 6pm. I am finally going to be able to learn asl and to be able to get into the deaf and hoh community of this area like I've needed for so long! When my parents were alive they never would let me learn sign language and talk down to me, belittle me and degrade me for wanting to learn. My dad wouldn't let me get hearing aids because he felt I wouldn't wear them, even though I begged all the time! I got chastised growing up