Hearing Impairment Within the Kitchen Environment

DisabledDesign

Reaction score
Hi All.

I am a undergraduate student studying design at university. I am currently undertaking a project that looks at home organisation. My target market however is mainly people with different disabilities such as sight, hearing and mobility as well as mental disabilities.

My question to all of you is that if you are a carer of someone with a hearing disability or you are personally someone who suffers with this impairment are there any problems you may face when in the kitchen environment. My thoughts were on how do you know when the microwave has beeped.

Any feedback would be greatly received and even if it just an idea of something that will make someones life easier i would love to hear it.

Thanks!

Hi All.

My question to all of you is that if you are a carer of someone with a hearing disability or you are personally someone who suffers with this impairment are there any problems you may face when in the kitchen environment. My thoughts were on how do you know when the microwave has beeped.

Other people in the kitchen telling me that I am impaired or disabled. If a microwave beeps and I can't hear it, the food isn't gonna burn.

My thoughts were on how do you know when the microwave has beeped.

Thanks!

The microwave has a timer, I just stare at it until the time runs out.

Any feedback would be greatly received and even if it just an idea of something that will make someones life easier i would love to hear it.

Thanks!
I honestly can't think of something that could make my life easier when I am in my own house; my problems all arise when I am outside.

Having a disability does not mean you're stupid , you can see when the microwave stove has stopped , you don't have to hear it to know that. I can get around find in my kitchen . And I turn my HA down b/c I can't standing hearing the microwave stove beeping . I am glad to see other feel the same as I do.