handedness/ambidextrous

Ashli

Reaction score
I am just starting out with some self taught sign language for working on with my hard of hearing baby.
I'm left handed and in everyday life there are things I use my right hand for that typical lefties don't - computer mouse, cutting food with a knife.. Since I've been practicing ASL i notice that I'm more comfortable doing some things with my right hand such as fingerspelling. It feels awkward for me to make the shapes with my left hand. Same with numbers. But then I noticed that when I was trying to form other signs that my left hand was suddenly the dominant hand and felt more natural. When I made the sign according to the instructions that's just where my hands went. Is it not okay to use my left hand as dominant for some signs and my right hand for finger spelling or dominant on other certain signs? Do I just need to consciously choose one as always dominant and be careful to always use it until I get used to it? Is there even a dominant hand for fingerspelling?

There is no rule that one must use either right or left hand as dominant hand. However, you should choose one or the other. It's confusing for the viewer if you constantly switch hands back and forth during a conversation. If you do want to switch hands because of overuse or pain, don't do it in the middle of a conversation but after a natural break, such as when someone else is taking a turn signing, then it's back to you.

It would kind of be like someone speaking with two different accents. Some words with an Australian accent, and some with a Southern drawl, all in the same conversation, changing every couple of words. Sure, you could probably understand them but it would be a struggle, and not a natural flow.

Yeah people usually have dominant hands in signing. But like Reba said, there's no "rule." It depends on the individual.

I know some people who are right-handed for writing and prefer to remain that way for signing as well.