Greetings to you, sirs and ladys

annasymmetric

Reaction score
Hi, I'm Anna. I'm a little shy and awkward and have difficulties making friends, no difficulties keeping them.

I'm here to look for a Deaf friend! I'm sure you're all aware of ASL students coming and going and yes I am an ASL student. But I'm not looking for a one-time love-and-then-leave kind of friend. I'm looking for genuine friends to have for a long time. Yes, I need to ask questions and I will be learning ASL from the friends I gather. But hopefully we will be talking about other interesting things besides Deaf culture (I'm not saying it's uninteresting, but it can get tired) or ASL or basic conversation. Looking for a serious friend, here.

Yes, I need Deaf conversational hours for class. So yes, it ultimately comes down to being an assignment. But I'm not learning ASL because it gets me credits for transfer, or I want to be an interpreter. I'm actually hard of hearing, and ASL is very comfortable to me.

Why not get a Deaf friend from school or the other millions of Deaf events that go on in San Diego?

Because I am very shy and have social difficulties. Hopefully someone will understand. I have few friends but I am tight with them.

Now that full disclosure is over, let me introduce myself.

I'm Anna, I live in San Diego and attend Mesa College. I work for my local Beverages and More (its a liquor store chain). I'm 26, and I am quite a geek. I'm married to a bigger geek and the love of my life. I am a total goofball, a dog whisperer, and sometimes a creep. I have quite a few hobbies, some of them extremely varied. I will list them now:

Video Games (Assassins Creed, Sims 3, Minecraft, Skyrim, etc...)
TV Shows (Supernatural, Psych, Doctor Who, Star Trek, etc...)
Cooking
Making Jewelry (that I sell on Etsy)
Roller Derby
Fencing (Yes with a sword)
Reading (Sci-fi, fantasy, manga, etc...)
Training dogs
And probably I do other things but can't think of at the moment.