Deaf driving

PsycExp

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a researcher at The University of Nottingham, UK, and am also a BSL signer. I've read on many forums that 26 countries still have a problem with deaf drivers, but I can't find out which countries these are. We are planning to conduct some driving experiments (in a simulator and a real car equiped with cameras) to show that deaf drivers are just as safe (or safer) than hearing drivers, but to write the proposal, I need to know some more about the 'stats'. If anyone knows where I can find out which countries do not allow deaf drivers, it would be a great help.

Many thanks!
Kat.

welcome to AD.

I was born deaf and have a license for years. I don't know anything about other countries. Sorry.

I think the biggest problem is training them. Make sure you train them well as it is hard to hear the instructors (the instructors will need a steering wheel and brake on his side for emergency... like mine did)

I've been driving for years and I'm a very visual driver. I can't say I never had a car accident but that was because I wasn't looking, not hearing! Just like anyone who followed to closely.

:wave: Welcome to Alldeaf!

I know Japan will not issue licence to deaf person. I know coz my cousin lives there. Ireland allows deaf drivers no problem. That all I know.

Hello,

I am a researcher at The University of Nottingham, UK, and am also a BSL signer. I've read on many forums that 26 countries still have a problem with deaf drivers, but I can't find out which countries these are. We are planning to conduct some driving experiments (in a simulator and a real car equiped with cameras) to show that deaf drivers are just as safe (or safer) than hearing drivers, but to write the proposal, I need to know some more about the 'stats'. If anyone knows where I can find out which countries do not allow deaf drivers, it would be a great help.

Many thanks!
Kat.