Can D/HH people become engineer?

Chimajo,

Have you talked with your parents about learning that deaf people can be engineers? If so, did that help change their views?

Engineer, HoH and non native English speaker

I have a question. People who want to become engineer must know English as a native language. What if deaf people in engineering have to understand English since their first language is not English?

I am an electrical engineer, and Italian is my native language.

I took a BS (2 yrs) and a MS (3 yrs) in Electrical Engineering here in Italy, I never thought about studying abroad because 1) it is much cheaper in Italy; 2) the Italian level of education is pretty good, although it has too much theory and very little practice; 3) I wasn't sure about the outcome attending lessons in a foreign language - I had enough issues with Italian classes.

When attending the university, I never asked for assistance and none of my classmates knew/know I am hard of hearing. I just played the silly-part when I asked something that had just been said, or if I missed something during classes. I don't suggest you to do so because it would have been so much better (to my benefit) having someone knowing about my issue and helping me out, rather than settling for the "whatever".

Most of classes required taking notes and there were no written materials, except expensive books - for consultation only, since each professor had their preferred topics and schedule. I missed most of what was being said since either I looked at the professor or at the notepad where I was writing down.
Anyway I managed to copy notes from my classmates. I never shined at school since I lost my hearing at the age of 10 (I was top of my class, before that), and I suffered a lot for being "behind" everyone else, even behind those who weren't very smart or skilled.