I'm Profoundly Deaf, So what???

kashveera

Reaction score
HI guys...

This is my first post, and I want to say this forum rocks!!

Anyway, I have seen many people are either negative or positive about their disability, but guys, theres so much to do out ther so much to live for, its awesome, the life out there is so beautiful, don't let your deafness hamper it!!

By the way, while I am hear, I'd like to share my life story, maybe it will inspire deaf people to strive more harder!

Guys, I am studying second year, Bcom(Acc), in a normal university, I matriculated with a distinction in 2004, I even have a bursary and a signed contract to work in a top accounting firm, I have even been awarded membership of the GOLDEN KEY INTERNATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY, where the top 15% of the university's top students are rewarded for academic excellence.

I have my drivers licence, I go out for dinner with normal friends, I act in plays in front of normal people, most of them don't know that I am deaf.

I am armed with two hearing aids, and an immense knowledge of lip-reading, and that what allows me to take the world in my stride.

Looking for some cool replies.

Kashveera

Kashveera!
You're in good company! I'm on the advanced track at my hs (where I'm the only deafie) , taking college classes for credit, and I have a driver's licence as well as a part-time J-O-B...
While you like the ammo of HAs, I prefer the nuclear option...CIs.
Just wondering, are you a total communicator or what?
I'm oral myself, with so-so ASL skills. I do speak Spanish--when everyone around me said it would be impossible for me to learn another language.
Hell, Spanish's easier than English...

Welcome to AllDeaf...
Apearently you've allready been lurking here... excellent..

C U later

Hi