Hello im new to AllDeaf and would like some feedback

DizzyDon62

Reaction score
Hello as you know im new here and also not all that long being deaf since april my last ear surgery. My doctor says he wants to give me a cochlear implant and I received an information kit in the mail and the make he likes to use is made by Med-EL. What I would like to know is how good they are and if any of you have them and are you happy with them. I find this hard im just so confused right now im going for the implant because of my kids but I will always be deaf no matter what. Learning lip reading is hard but gets better each day and the finger spelling sur helps but I find my friends give up truing to talk to me now and ignore me. Sorry for the vent but I would like to know about the implant Don

Welcome! :)

Sorry to hear that you lost your hearing as a result of a surgical accident. The good thing is that people like you who have a good history of hearing, tend to do pretty well with cochlear implants.

There are a couple of posters here who have Med-El implants and they seem very happy with them. Did you ask your doctor why he was particularly recommending them for you? The other available brands are Advanced Bionics and Cochlear.

If you have any other questions feel free to ask. I remember how confused I felt when my hearing loss suddenly increased to the point that I needed a CI.

Hmm... you said, "doctor wants".

It should be what YOU want, not what the doctor wants.

i concur. that doctor should be fired or censured for imposing his or her zealous belief upon you, don.

Last edited:

So Right!! Agreed!!
Take your time and think about what you want!

This has to be a difficult time for you.

Thankyou for your input