Am I the only one?

Greg23

Reaction score
who went to mainstream school and high school? (well I'm still a junior in high school) I've considered going to a deaf school but it didn't seem to be a necessity. I've lost about 50 percent, maybe a bit more of my hearing but the mainstream schools I went to was easy to adjust to. Anyone else the same?

No ur not only one, i been in hearing impaired classes but in middle school half and half (half of hearing impaired classes and mainstream), but in high school all in mainstream But with interpeter of course. Well, only thing, i like mainstreamed cuz follow my level education, but bad abt it, no deafies in that classroom.

No, you're not the only one. I've been in mainstreamed since 2nd grade. I'm hard of hearing. Right now, I'm a student in RIT/NTID where I can learn more to be part of deaf culture. I'm used to mainstreamed, but I'm learning to get used to it. You know?

I have been mainstreamed from Kindergarten to 12th grade....my Preschool years were with little tykes with various disabilities (deaf/HOH, blind, wheelchair). In my high school years (9th to 12th grade), I was also in an ESE deaf/HOH program in some of my classes with deaf/hoh classmates....other classes in H.S. were with hearing classmates.
My Preschool teacher told my parents they should send me off to a school for the deaf for Kindergarten.....my parents did some research, and voted against it, saying it is miles away from home (back then in early 1970s, kids don't come home unless holidays or summertime), and they wanted me to know my family....plus they wanted me to speak...so I had speech therapy from age 2 up to 4th or 5th grade with speech therapists, including during school hours.
So yes, you are not the only one....I've been there! :)

I've used to be mainstream since kindergarten to grade 5 and transfered to ECD School Grade 6...