Nail polish? Curious question

AJunkyardDog

Reaction score
I am a beginner to ASL, and when I started out I never wore nailpolish. I took a break from school, and am getting ready to go back after deciding I would like to study ASL.
Lately I have gotten into wearing bright nail polish. I know this is considered inappropriate for translators, but I am just looking for an overall opinion from members of the deaf community.
How do you feel about nail polish? Is it obnoxiously distracting no matter who is wearing it? Or just unprofessional for translators?

Thanks.

A nail polish color that is "gaudy" or bright would be a distraction for me when watching an interpreter. (Which is funny because I used to live to wear gaudy nail polish colors. I was in a green, blue, orange, etc. phase for a bit :lol: ) Other than that, I don't have a problem. That's just for me, though. (I'm deaf, not an interpreter.)

I love nail polish...but I'm not an interpretor...the last interpretor that I used, was an older woman, who was wearing black nail polish....I couldn't help but to notice it when she was interpreting...wasn't too much of a distraction, tho'. But an array of rings and bracelets would be more distracting!

When you become an interpreter (not translator), and you are "on duty," you should keep visual distractions to a minimum. That means no unnaturally colored or patterned fingernails, and keep them clean and neat. Also, no tatts showing on hands and arms, no bracelets, and limit rings to one only (or one ring "set" such as a combination engagement/wedding ring).

These "rules" are even more important when interpreting for clients who have vision problems.