Help!!

InsomniacBunny

Reaction score
*My friend is helping me write this because I'm not too good with the computer*

I'm 18 years old and I live in San Diego. I have lived in different foster cares all of my life but now that I'm 18 I can't live there anymore. I'm staying in a state run transitional living place right now but I only have 30 days to find a place to live.

I have never had a job because I've never stayed in the same area for very long because of foster care. But I need a job now. I'm having a hard time finding one. Can anyone recommend a good company that hires the deaf. I have my GED, and am willing to do anything. I've heard of job coaches, could someone explain that to me?

Also I don't think I can stay in San Diego because its too expensive to live. I have enough money saved to take the bus somewhere and move there. Does anyone know of a good place to live with lots of jobs, and a good deaf community? I don't have any family so I'm willing to move wherever I could find a good job.

Thanks for your help.

deafdyke

Reaction score
Too bad you have your GED already. If you didn't, you could have the state send you to the school for the Deaf, for a place to live. (dhh kids can stay in school til they are 21-22)
Are you hooked up with social services? They have VR counselors for the deaf and hard of hearing.

InsomniacBunny

Reaction score
Hi! Thanks for your reply. I am in touch with Social Services but they haven't been much help. When I got out of foster care I didn't have a place to go so Social Services found me this place. But they haven't been much help with my job search. What is VR counselors?

Sunshine1

Reaction score
Hello ... VR is a Vocational Rehabilitation. To find state office for this agency, check this website and contact them to help you.

RSA

Also you could try to contact Deaf & Hard Of Hearing Services and ask for their help as well. click here too