childcare cost

paperclip

Reaction score
*To clarify, I am NOT pregnant, nor do I intend on being pregnant anytime soon.*

I was wondering on people's experiences in terms of working after the birth of the child/children and who cared for their children after they returned to work. From what I'm reading, childcare is fairly expensive and it seems like having a stay-a-home parent may be a good choice in some cases, depending on the income of the parents. What were your experiences and is there anything you would have done differently?

The reason I'm asking this question is because I want to be slightly selective about my future job (I'm still a student) so that I can have a reasonable maternity leave experience and take advantage of any childcare programs offered by a company. I like the idea of being a stay-at-home mom for the first 2 years, but economically, I don't think it would be possible.

Thanks!

*To clarify, I am NOT pregnant, nor do I intend on being pregnant anytime soon.*

I was wondering on people's experiences in terms of working after the birth of the child/children and who cared for their children after they returned to work. From what I'm reading, childcare is fairly expensive and it seems like having a stay-a-home parent may be a good choice in some cases, depending on the income of the parents. What were your experiences and is there anything you would have done differently?

The reason I'm asking this question is because I want to be slightly selective about my future job (I'm still a student) so that I can have a reasonable maternity leave experience and take advantage of any childcare programs offered by a company. I like the idea of being a stay-at-home mom for the first 2 years, but economically, I don't think it would be possible.

Thanks!

that's why it's nice to have extended families around. My friend and his wife are both working parents. They have a son and my friend drops him off at his parents' house before going to work.