Where do I begin?

What?

Reaction score
I'm experiencing one of the longest valleys in my endless journey with fluctuating hearing. If I need a CI eventually, then I'm open to this idea. The thing I worry about most is being able to communicate with my beautiful wife and little 2 year old boy. Where do you go to get the basics in communicating with Sign? Is ASL the best bet for a person who has zero experience in signing. How do the people around you learn to sign? I can imagine this to be a monumental task. What is it like to learn sign, especially if you don't know anyone else who knows the language?

Classes in sign language are offered through churches, community colleges, universities, and d/Deaf/HoH organizations.

When I started learning sign, I began with PSE (Pidgin Signed English) since it was closely related to English. From there, I moved onto SEE (Signed Exact English) and finally, ASL.

One of the things I found helpful was to join Deaf Events and participate in the Deaf and deafblind communities. This allowed me to practice my signing with other ASL users and become more comfortable using sign both receptively and expressively. It has been my experience that members of the Deaf and deafblind communities were very patient with me and did all they could to help me become the best ASL user I could be.

With the exception of my sister (who knows fingerspelling), none of my family members know sign. I practiced with them at home by using the lesson book that was given to me by my sign language instructor. Several family members also thought about attending an ASL course at a local community college, but unfortunately, we never got around to doing that.

The only difficulty I had in learning sign was understanding the grammatical context of ASL. However, over time and with increased exposure/useage, that became easier.