Well this sucks

Moon-child

Reaction score
Hi, I am looking for any advice or shared experiences please. I just got a digital aid for the first time a funky red one that sits behind my ear (previous to this I have been wearing analog aid for many years). I realize it it new and it sounds weird and I will have to go back to my audiologist many times to program it, that is not the issue.

The issue I am having is that the space between my ear and my head is very small so my aid actually pushes my ear out abit, and is even worse when I am wearing glasses or sunglasses. I am thinking I just don't have enough space back there. It is quite irritated and I am not wearing the new aid to get used to it because of this. Help!

That's pretty much the one thing that we have to deal with when wearing BTE hearing aids.

Are you wearing thin or thick glasses? I'm referring to the sides that go over your ears.

If they're thick, they may be more uncomfortable.

If they're thin, they should be easy to get used to.

My glasses when I wear them are very thin, thick glasses tend to bother me too, for the same reason. My ear lays pretty flat against my head, maybe I just don't have enough room there to fit this type of aid comfortably. Well, I am gonna try it for awhile, get it programmed and take it from there. If I don't like it, I have time to get a refund (sans the ear piece). I was just really hoping this new aid would help as my hearing after being stable and in the severely hearing impaired range for years has recently dropped significantly. Thankyou very much for your replies, it is nice to bound off my thoughts on people in the know, ya know!

You might want to try placing some moleskin behind your ear to prevent further irritation.

Have you thought about using an in-the-canal HA?