resident manager issues...

best4her

Reaction score
hello. this is my first time here so bear with me.

my daughter is Deaf. i am soooo proud of her. she is now a freshman at gallaudet. she's such a good daughter!!
:angel:

well, we have rented an apt in silver spring, md for approx 14 months. when i applied for the apt, i informed resident mgr that i have a Deaf daughter and that we have a dog for her in case of emergencies. apt had 'no pet' policy even though several tenants had pets anyway.
resident mgr agreed to place Deaf child signs at parking lot entrances and she requested that i provide her with a letter from a dr. prescribing dog and with proof of her disability. i provided the info and she said ok.
now 14 months later she claims she never requested or got the paperwork i provided (i have copies of the documents i gave her) and that although she is giving me 'a break' by not having me pay back fees, she is demanding that i pay $260 fee and $20 month for our dog since there is a new pet policy in place along with a picture of dog and vet records of shots (i don't have a vet, i administer her shots myself). this seems unfair to us and i'd just like some feedback.
she wanted payment and other documentation by oct 21 or 'else'. what do you think about this?
:Ohno:

To my knowledge, the only thing you should really need is proof that the dog you have is a hearing dog and some kind of paper that certifies her to having the dog. As for the fees, I've never heard of that.

hmmm....... if that dog is for your daughter's alert system since she is deaf then she has the right to have a hearing dog to warn her in certain emergencies.

Contact these folks;

U.S. Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Civil Rights Division
Disability Rights Section - NYAV
Washington, D.C. 20530

Section Fax Number

(202) 307-1198

Chief

John L. Wodatch
(202) 307-0663

Deputy Chiefs

L. Irene Bowen
(202) 307-2245

Allison J. Nichol
(202) 514-8301

Renee Wohlenhaus