Question:

JanatheShort

Reaction score
So I have been on AllDeaf for a while now, and I have seen a million people saying "Oh I want someone to practice ASL with me!"

I know that you all have to be very tired of that request!!

That left me with a bit of a problem, however, because I haven't found the Deaf Community (if there is one) in my city. I can't travel to Deaf events in Vincennes or Indianapolis often because my husband and i share one car.

I thought, :hmm: what can I do to make sure I don't learn signs incorrectly?

Then I had an idea!

What if I record a Youtube video of me trying to sign the new words I use. Then, I could put a link here... and maybe someone would check my signs?

Would any of you be willing to do that?

Don't wait for the boat to pick you up in middle of water. Go on. Start your own Deaf get together in your area.

That sounds like a neat idea! I'm just learning, really too, but I'd be interested to follow your new signs and others' comments.

I live in a big city now, but where I am from there were no Deaf people, as all of us deaf and hoh were raised orally, so there was no one to meet with. Good luck with your progress!!!

I think it's a good idea but it'll be really slow. Consider:

You sign.
Fluent signer corrects you.
You sign back trying to emulate the correction.
Fluent signer says, "not quite, move your hand more like this."
You sign back, and ask "how about now?"
Fluent signer says, "There! You've got it!"

Done face to face or over video chat, 30 seconds.

Done with each of you taking it in turns to upload videos to Youtube (or you following typed instructions), much much longer.

Can you video chat? It would be a lot faster and flexible for you and the person helping you.

I think it's a good idea but it'll be really slow. Consider:

You sign.
Fluent signer corrects you.
You sign back trying to emulate the correction.
Fluent signer says, "not quite, move your hand more like this."
You sign back, and ask "how about now?"