New here and looking for some feedback...

tattybogles

Reaction score
I wonder if you might be able to help me out? I am a hearing student at the Community College of Rhode Island in Newport. I am taking ASL 1 and thoroughly enjoying it. We have a research paper due tomorrow evening. My chosen research topic is Music and Dance in Deaf Culture. I was first inspired by a documentary I watched (It's All Gone Pete Tong) about a DJ named Frankie Wilde who lost his hearing and later learned sign language and made a whole new album that was highly acclaimed. For me (a hearing person in ASL 1 at the community college in Newport, RI), the obvious starting point for my research was with Beethoven. I watched a documentary about him and learned about the testimony he wrote about his experience being deaf (I don't capitalize it here because at the time there wasn't such a thing as Deaf Culture). It is a very raw piece of emotional expression and one he wrote only half way into his prolific career. Next, I did some Google searches to find more Deaf musicians. I came across the YouTube video of Sean Forbes' "I'm Deaf," which I really like and tried to learn to give as a presentation at the end of class. I managed to get through the part where he's "deliver-----ing," but then realized to perform that would take me as much time to learn as it would to write a proper research paper. Since the assignment is research paper.... well, nevertheless, I had that song stuck in my head for days. It comes back to me now as I think of it. I also rented the film "Touch the Sound" about the incredible percussionist Evelyn Glennie, who - to a hearing person - doesn't seem Deaf at all. I have read scientific studies and watched the performances on your website. I am very interested and... well, that's about where I am right now.