My impressions with learning sign language

GraysonPeddie

Eye/Hear/Speech Impaired
Premium Member
Reaction score
My impressions of learning sign language is great but I'm still learning. However I do know that I'm better off learning in classes but I don't seem to have that much of a problem when learning over the Internet. I feel like I wanted to go out on deaf events but before I do that, I'd have to practice making ASL sentences like:
  • Brother sister, you?
  • Tell him, finished?
  • Nice meet you.
  • Have dog cat, I.
...and so on and so forth.

This is when I'm going to be doing some practicing on the mirror and use face expressions like raising my eyebrows when asking a question--well, not the whole time but after a comma like I show above (but of course I don't mention "comma").

In Lesson Tutor, I've learned the most from Series 1 and 3, including Series 2 Lessons 11 and 12. Then, I started to learn most of animal signs and take an animal quiz for matching the sign for fingerspelled words. I've got kitten, snake, owl, elephant, duck, rabbit, deer, and fish, but I got turkey and pig mixed up. Seems I've tried to grasp the sign for turkey but I think maybe some turkeys have feathers below turkeys' beeks? Plus, I don't know how a sign for pig are similar to that of a "real" pig... Perhaps someone can eloberate it for me? I've got the hang of how the sign for snakes, deer, owl, kitten, cat, etc. and how it is similar to real animals/pets, so no explaination needed except for the sign for pig.

So I'll continue to learn new signs while refreshing my memory, making sentences with those signs, etc. and hopefully, participate in deaf events.

Is it really necessary to learn only ASL? Not all deaf people use ASL.

Is it really necessary to learn only ASL? Not all deaf people use ASL.