is laughing a reflex?

meggysmom

Reaction score
Hi. I am new to this. I just had twins 8 months ago, and was devastaed to find out that one twin would need heart and esophagus surgery. Six surgeries, therapies 3 times a week, and a diagnosis of CHARGE Association later, now we are facing the possibility of her being deaf. She lived in the NICU for 6 weeks, and they said she responded to nurses. But, back then, hearing wasn't even a concern. It became a concern when she failed 2 screening tests. That's when we realized that she really wasn't responding. Every once in a while we thought she was...but it has been 8 months and nothing is consistant with her responses. She has had fluid in her ears since birth, and docs say that could contribute up to 30-40 decibles worth of hearing. But, with the way she doesn't respond they think that there is more to the picture. Long story short, she is getting tubes on July 5th, and will have the fluid removed. While sedated, she will be given an ABR to give us a clearer picture of what is happening. My questionis...Since she was about three months old, she has been making sounds and laughing. This sounds silly, but is this possible if one is deaf. I hope I don't offend anyone, I'm just a really scared mom. I just want Meggy to hear what we call her, and to hear her twin sister. My other twin is much more vocal and babbling. Meagan just girgles, and laughs. Can someone give me some info? Thanks.

In my humble opinion (IMHO), babies will do any number of things automatically whether they are hearing or deaf. EX: A baby will cry when they are hungry, have dirty diaper, or want attention. It's something they pick up very quickly. I don't see where laughing is that much different.

:wave: :welcome: Welcome Meggysmom to Alldeaf, and I hope that you will enjoy your stay with us. This is a very friendly forum.