IEP help for 2nd grader

silversoul

Reaction score
Does anyone have any literature: power point presentations, articles, resources of any sorts that could assist in making a case for HoH accommodations to a mainstreamed child?

I have been advocating at IEP meetings for a few years now and feel like I am getting no where with them.

I need to explain why hard of hearing is a "disability" worthy of accommodations (they are suggesting her HoHness is not an issue in regards to academics. Also they are demanding that her learning delays are not from lack of language exposure at school but rather because of APD which is an auditory processing learning disorder which she has not been diagnosed with and can not at this time even be tested for, because they can't locate a HoH APD test ....since they test for APD with headphones).

I also need to explain why giving her HoH accommodations would foundationally improve her math and reading levels. I have a few good research articles on this and will be making charts for them.

silversoul, can you talk to the parents about maybe transferring to Illonois School for the Deaf or a Dhh program? The sitution you're advocating for sounds scarliy simlair to my experiance as a mainstreamed solotaire 23 years ago. (oral solotaire) I know the school...........23 years ago I got told " Oh she's not "really" deaf.
It just goes to prove that public school systems don't give a shit about educating dhh kids, but are just using the funding they bring, so they don't have to pay out for an out of placement (ie either dhh program or deaf school) sitution.

Does anyone have any literature: power point presentations, articles, resources of any sorts that could assist in making a case for HoH accommodations to a mainstreamed child?

I have been advocating at IEP meetings for a few years now and feel like I am getting no where with them.