I will post this again

gab1430

Reaction score
I am a teacher who has become almost deaf as an adult. I need to find some resources, or help to go on with my life, I am terribly depressed, I dont know what to do with my life as I am the one who makes the most income at home. We dont have kids, husband is disabled. We have spent the last 11 years trying to have a baby, we cant adopt as we dont have the 40k we need for a new born, plus we dont qualify due to our disabilities. I know I need a change in what I do. please help me understand there is a life after deafness.
thanks so much

:wave:...welcome aboard...and sounds as if you really need a "picker-upper"....Most all of us can testify that there is life after deafness...we're living it...so lay down ur burdens...sit back..and read the threads here at AD....nice people here!

thanks so much for your reply, do you know how I can find the forum for the late deafened? I am a teacher, and I need a career change, but all i find is jobs that dont pay me what me and my husband need to survive, he has MS so we really need me to keep up the salary. Any resources here or ideas? please?

I am a teacher and I was born deaf. No reason to stop teaching.

I cant take the pressure anymore. I wasnt born deaf, it is really hard to adjust when it comes to you this late. I do think i need a career change. But thanks for the opinion.

I cant take the pressure anymore. I wasnt born deaf, it is really hard to adjust when it comes to you this late. I do think i need a career change. But thanks for the opinion.

What about being a teacher teaching deaf children?

^^^ That sounds like a GREAT idea!

I'm new to this hearing loss too. Just found out last week! It's really devastating and all kinds of things go through your mind about your ability to function with late onset. For three days I sat and felt myself going into a depression and wondered about what my life would be like from here on.