I sign like a second grader.

CoffeeFiend

Reaction score
A guy at Deaf Church told me that.

Anyways, hello! My name is Becky, I live in Minnesota. I am an ASL student. I’ve been signing for about 2 years now, so the fact that I’m as good at it as an 8 year old is something to be proud of, right? =P

I first started learning ASL when I was a kid. There was an ASL interpreter at our church who offered free classes. I took a class when I was about 7. Unfortunately, the only thing I remembered after the class ended was the alphabet.

My interest in ASL spiked once more in late 2011. I took a spill at work and had to go to physical therapy. While there, I saw an interpreter at work. I then realized that’s what I wanted to go to college for-- ASL interpreting.
To make 100% sure that ASL was what I wanted to go to school for, I enrolled in a community outreach class at the local Deaf school. I fell in love with the language. (and the culture! Though, I’m still learning about that…) I started taking college courses in Summer 2012.

In addition to college, I work at a hardware store called Menards. I’ve been there for about 3 years.
I like drawing cartoons, working out and writing action novels. I also love coffee, hence the username.

By joining this site, I hope to expand my knowledge of Deaf culture and get a better feel for it. ( and to bump shoulders with fellow ASL students wouldn’t be a bad thing either.) Meeting new people online is always fun too! :D

I hope you're having a good day and that it's warmer where you are. I'm freezing up here. =P

That is better than being told you talk a monkey! I met a girl about 10 yo and she said I sounded like a monkey when I talked, I said 'Gee thanks!'
And the said No you sound like Bullwininke's monkey! It was a squirrel , but the girl said she thought it cool I sounded liked Bullwininke's monkey so she was off the hook. Winter is just starting where I live so it's cold here too.