HOH veteran

bpmerillat

Reaction score
Hey everybody. My name is Brian. I'm a 46 year old Army veteran. I have recently been diagnosed with otosclerosis. I have a moderate-profound loss in both ears, 68dB average. I have opted to wear hearing aids for now instead of having surgery. I am getting my HA's and streamer through the VA. My hearing will continue to deteriorate until I have corrective surgery. But even the surgery is not guaranteed to work. I am completely new to HA's, and very nervous...I get my HA's in 5 days.

I hope to make friends with many of you here, and learn from each others experiences.

~Brian~

:wave: Welcome. Let me know how VA goes. I was in Air Force. I'm HoH, but not as much loss. Considering going to VA given the cost of HA.

:welcome: to AllDeaf forum.

Wow, you are late deafened. How do you lose your hearing? I noticed in your profile that you have moderate to profound hearing loss which indicate that you might have severe hearing loss. Yes, you can have hearing aid(s) to make you be able to hear sounds unless you are use to hearing the words that you could pick up but a lot of time devices are just tools and they only make sounds which you can hear, but not pick up the words. You can try it this way. It is good that you had gone to the audiologist to help you get your hearing test and get the kind of hearing aid you need to wear so that you can hear something.

As for surgery, you have to be a candidate for CI (Cochlear Implant) because you have to be totally deaf, not hard of hearing. Beside, surgery is just surgery and it can be complicated if you want to go through it.

As for me, I am deaf and I do have only one hearing aid which I wear it on my left ear. My right ear, I am totally deaf. I don't go for CI. No way. I am perfectly happy being deaf since I was born with it.

I hope you have fun reading and posting here. See you around here. :wave:

Welcome! :wave: You're in the right place, pull up a chair and stay awhile!