Deaf Community...

hellos245

Reaction score
:wave:I want to make this post, because I feel comfortable here, and know I can get some honest answers. Plus, I feel its a good place for it.

I am an ASL student and I want to be apart of the Deaf Community. I know its rare for a hearing person to be accepted into the Deaf Community...but I would love to be accepted. I want to become fluent and experience everything possible.
I have a very high passion for ASL, and the Culture is amazing. I want to learn as much as I possibly can!

Is there any tips, suggestions, any information on anything that you can give me?

If you have any questions for me, I will gladly answer anything. :ty:

Know you have a hearing perspective. Set it aside somewhere else.
Be ready for bluntness. Persevere. Laugh at yourself.
Learn from Deaf people.
Then you may be accepted by many.

Don't worry too much about---- me, deaf, you---- hearing. Just find common interests and you'll be surprised at how quickly you click with others deaf or not.

Thank You for the advice. I just really want my 1st impression to be great, and I dont want to ruin my chances of being accepted into the Deaf Community.
What happens if they dont accept you? And what happens when they do accept you?

well when you first get accepted the gates of hell will open bellow your feet. This may seem scary at first but after a 5 minute conversation with the devil u will realize he just likes to play practicle jokes. Keep your cool as the steam gushes upwards and then an elevatore will take u to the room where we all party and bullshit. It kinda freaked me out the first time it happned.