Were you lied by schools and/or parents that you were "hearing?"

Status
Not open for further replies.

twaddellmotter

Reaction score
Reason I am asking this particular question is I need to gather statistics/percentage of how many of you experienced this as part of my data collection.

I am a Deaf School Psychologist at Indiana Deaf School and part of my research is to determine how many of you were a "victim" of being mislead to being a "normal/regular," "hearing," or "hearing-like?" while growing up. Just reply YES, your age (if comfortable with it), and which state you are in. I am going to get a good percentage by the end of this week (August 19th).

Terri

Are you looking for people whose parents or schools didn't detect a hearing loss and refused to test for it, insisting the kids were hearing? Or those who tested as deaf or with some level of hearing loss as a child, and whose parents didn't reveal this information and refused to provide academic accommodations or assistive devices such as hearing aids?

Reason I am asking this particular question is I need to gather statistics/percentage of how many of you experienced this as part of my data collection.

I am a Deaf School Psychologist at Indiana Deaf School and part of my research is to determine how many of you were a "victim" of being mislead to being a "normal/regular," "hearing," or "hearing-like?" while growing up. Just reply YES, your age (if comfortable with it), and which state you are in. I am going to get a good percentage by the end of this week (August 19th).

Terri