The road begins to hear once again!!!

Deaffy

Reaction score
Today was my first appointment at the cleveland clinic. I had my first audiogram in roughly 4 years. During the speech processing I could not pick up nearly any words except the word hotdog. Hearing that word was amazing I have not heard anything in roughly 10 years now. The head dr looked at my scores and told me that my hearing is very poor and that I am a cochlear implant canidate. I agreed to walk down this path to potientally be able to hear again. I go back friday of this week to have my ct scan done. I am a total noob to this whole process and Im not really sure all the lingo that is going on when they discuss my audiogram. I will be keeping an online journal of the whole process of what it takes to get the CI. Man I was soo sure that my nerves were completely dead and that I wouldnt even be able to continue to seek the implant. Its finally starting to begin.

Great news. I know exactly how you feel because I just got mine turned on a month ago. I've been deaf for almost 20 years and I've been able to hear again in the last month.

Because it's so recent for me, and there are others on this forum who've recently gotten there's too, feel free to ask any questions. As for me you can Email or PM me any time about it.

Just to tell you a few "tech" terms or abbreviations you might read in here. I'll tell you a few of them you might run into.

CI = Cochlear Implant.
HOH = Hard of Hearing (not quite deaf)
Activation = The day the implant is turned on for the first time.

When I first started coming to this forum read those things I had no idea what they where talking about. LOL

Now for some things you might want to know that you'll have to think about.