Signed music videos on youtube -- offensive or not?

jaggedstone

Reaction score
I am a hearing student in ASL 2. I watch ASL videos on youtube of people signing...and recently I've come across a lot of videos of people who sign (though it's mostly in PSE i think) music.

I was talking to the teaching assistant of my class and a friend of mine who knows ASL fluently and I told them that the music videos help me a lot with understanding signs and expanding my vocabulary. They told me that many Deaf people find signed music videos offensive since many use PSE anyway and not ASL.

I always see a lot of comments from Deaf/HOH on the videos saying "thank you for doing this!" etc...so I was just wondering, do you find those videos offensive? :hmm:

I think it is a matter of opinion and what they call the video. I think some Deaf people call it offensive if someone says "Let it be by the Beatles in ASL" when they are just signing in plain English. But there are some people who sign very well in ASL to songs and I enjoy them a great deal. Allyballybabe on youtube is one of them and another one is Ktloveland. I do feel bad for some of the comments some of them get from some people because they are really trying to learn something great.

But they need to be respectful and call it what it is or learn it properly before they label it one thing...

I love watching songs being signed =)

They're offended because PSE was used, not ASL.

However, I would rather PSE be used since it helps make the song make sense in a poetic way.

I've seen songs sung in ASL and I couldn't follow it as well as I could when it was in PSE.

Honestly, signing with the music always put me to sleep! I don't think they are that pretty to watch.

My son was a member of his Deaf school's signing choir when he was in high school. None of the Deaf parents or teachers at the school were offended by it. In fact, they all showed up at their performances to watch and applaud.