Offended by ASL students?

Megan8987

Reaction score
I havent taken any formal ASL classes....just one online course, everything else I've got from books, online, and DVDs. I teach ASL vocab to a hearing toddler, I love the language, but I don't have anyone to sign with except my family...and their vocab is really limited right now (but they're trying) :giggle:

I read online somewhere that two ASL students were walking through Walmart signing to eachother. A girl came up to them and told them that her Dad was deaf and was offended that they were signing to eachother because they were hearing.

After reading that I tend to get really nervous signing to my fiance or kids in public. Granted I'm still learning and my grammar and syntex is completely off...but if I need to start somewhere.

I also don't want to go to Borders where they hold Deaf get togethers because some people posted that they get upset by new signers being there. They dont want to feel like they have to "teach" and are there to get to know and talk to other Deaf people. Which I understand.

So where does that leave me and other ASL students? Would you be offended if you saw me signing to my hearing Fiance and you know I'm hearing? What about if I came to Borders. If I can't practice then my signing wont get better. But offending people is definitely not something I want to do either.

Thanks for the advice in advance! :ty:

You shouldn't allow a rogue Deaf person's opinion affect yours of the whole Deaf community.