new to alldeaf, and being deaf

Scared_Silence

Reaction score
hello all.

im kinda new here, but hey. guess i'll tell u my story. I became officially deaf last week. reason = accident. i was a little too close to a big gas tank when it exploded. also, i had a horrible ear infection at the time. that didnt help. if u wanna know more, then just ask. other then that. im ok i guess. just confused.
as soon as i knew i was deaf, i started learning ASL, i learned a-z and 1-10, as well as some basic signs the first night. still need help tho.
but im glad to be here. im still alive and all lol. nice to meet everyone XD

:eek3: Oh wow! I am glad you got out of it alive!

Welcome to AD! ADers here are great and will be willing to answer any questions you have about deafness and ASL.

I was born deaf in both ears.

thanx. nice to know. i'm sure i'll have alot sooner or later. just trying to adjust to all of this.

Hello and welcome! I'm sorry to hear about your accident, but I'm glad that you are learning sign language. I wish you the best of luck with that.

Welcome to AD, you'll be fine. You 'll see plenty of friendly faces here :D

thanx thanx. ASL isnt as hard as i thought it would be. im a fast learner so i'll get it pretty quick. just getting family to learn it is the problem lol.

Welcome to AllDeaf :wave:

Sorry to hear about the accident. Glad you made it though. You seem to have a pretty good attitude it spite of it. I too am a recent deaf person. I was hoh for most of my life, but lost it all in March 2008. Big adjustment for me.

Good luck with the ASL. I am still working on mine.

:welcome: to Alldeaf and I'm glad you made it alive and hopefully you will cope with the deafness. You gotta be glad you didn't become blind which is much more worse. Explosions sure are scary!

yeah. i'll be fine. XD just gotta show my family that lol. and yeah, explosives are acary. im still sore from it.