Calling all Nurses!

DGirl101

Reaction score
Recently I had a meeting with the coordinators of the Nursing program at the college I am attending.

In the meeting there were some discouraging news. They called cardonics, and spoke to a rep there and found out from the rep that the device, a "stethographic stethoscope" was not intended for those who have no hearing.

I'm scheduled to take the CNA course which is a requirement before attending the ADN course, if I take it I will fail and not be certified. I can, however, retest to become Certified. I HAVE to meet one of the criteria which is to hear Heart, Lung, Bowel sounds and be able to take BP.

Please help, anyone out there that can tell me what I can do?

I have one other option and that is to get a CI.....:|

I was a Certified Nurse Assistant, and was one for 3 years. I couldn't take Manual BP because of Stethoscope.

But I talked to the people who were doing the testing for CNA certification (on the day of the testing), and they let me skip the BP part and I was still able to get my certification because I passed everything else.

But I was getting a certification so I could work in Nursing homes, so I don't know there are different level of CNA certification or not.

Talk to the people who does the certification testing.. they will tell you what to do.

I am studying to be a medical assistant. Taking BP is now done with a machine in most hospitals. I know in school, you are taught with the stethoscope.

oh have you visit Vocational Rehab? They may be able to talk your college and everything and making sure they will help you.

I have seen deaf people become CNA's , LVNS and nurses, its possible to do. I hope everything works out like lighthouse said , contact a VR or counselor to get more suggestions. I sure hope others will share their experience with you here. I am still in school at the moment for medical assistant :)