A few questions for interpreters

Cane Corso

Reaction score
I am curious, why did you want to learn ASL? Why are you interested to work with deaf clients? What was your first purpose to have this job as an interpreter?

I learned ASL when I was very young because I was interested in it. When I got to college I took a couple of classes but they were all too easy for me! I have wanted to work with deaf clients all my life though. I used to work in the computer industry and I didn't know how I could work with deaf people there. So when I lost my computer job I started looking for other options and I decided to become an interpreter. :)

Both of my parents were deaf, so I grew up learning ASL from the time I was about 3 years old. I interpreted for my parents all my life. They are gone now, but I started interpreting for others several years ago.

-AS-

I, like Etoile (Hey there!), learned sign language as a child. My elementary school had a mainstream program, so I picked up sign from friends at school. I never took a formal class (beyond elementary, basic SEE classes) until I was 19/20, and by then I was too advanced for the class, so I dropped the program.

I've known since I was very young that I wanted to be a teacher/interpreter. I'm glad I'm now doing what I want. Not too many 21 year olds can say that.

I'll be going off to college to be a teacher/interpreter this August and I can't wait! None of my family are deaf, I just took a liking to ASL when I saw an interpreter at my church one day. I've taken some classes but they didn't give any credit for it, it was just for "further education." I've been teaching myself mostly. I can't wait!

I really admire each of you who learned ASL simply because you were exposed to it. I think we do not hear enough about how much hearing people gain from learning ASL. One good thing to say for mainstreaming is that the hearing kids get to see something they never would otherwise.

MorriganTait said: