Student and Friend

rball27

Reaction score
Introducing myself here! I am Rachel, 31, prior military and a full time student now for Government and Legal Studies. As a disclaimer, I'm not sure if this is the proper place or forum for this, but I'm a firm believer in "not knowing until you ask" so I figured I would try. I have limited experience with the deaf community/culture and ASL (I can do basic sign but not extensively). However, I have grown up my entire life with my adult uncle who is deaf, and very active in the ASL community. One of my current classes is an intercultural communications class. For our research assignment/term paper we are each able to pick a community that we wish to study and understand more: their history, values, beliefs, communication patterns, etc. My choice in this community is personal to me because of our family and the interest I have always had in this community - uniqueness, families which are multicultural and bilingual, etc. Part of this research is conducting an interview.

If this isn't the proper forum I completely understand and mean no offense; I have been struggling to find avenues to connect with those in the community and meet the terms of my project. However, my assignment this week is to interview someone willing from within the cultural community that I've picked. **Edited to add, if this is not an acceptable forum for this, but you have ideas or a solution to where I may successfully find someone to interact with/interview please let me know. I would appreciate alternatives as well!