Languages

SJCSue

Reaction score
Who knows another language? I am studying French by myself. I remember the tiniest bit of Spanish. I am also learning ASL.

did french at school 6 years total misery,but i can find my way around france reading not a problem.
SJ if you deaf there little cafe in the Odean Paris,well worth going to food devine and run totally by deaf..dEPENDS on funds to get here i expect

do programming languages count? :)
I've counted them when people ask this question, then they ask me to name them... C++, C#, Java, PHP, ... they don't think it's as funny as I do.

I'm a native in English, conversational in German (understand more than I'm typically willing to speak), and learning ASL.

Now that you brought that up, Nic, I knew Pascal and Basic really well, and had a semester of assembly language and COBOL, but most of that was nearly 30 years ago!

As far as spoken languages go, no. I am not fluent in any language and can barely wing it in ASL. I know some words in Spanish (can recall numbers to billions, though), some words in Saṃskṛtam (Sanskrit), and one phrase in Arabic. I, however, created my own language to deal with the frustration in learning languages, which is called Galeh Yuvo. Look at my avatar under my name, and that is my language. I use it to hide information from people in plain sight and as spiritual practices, in which I sometimes combine Sanskrit words within Galeh Yuvo sentences.

Now that you brought that up, Nic, I knew Pascal and Basic really well, and had a semester of assembly language and COBOL, but most of that was nearly 30 years ago!